Turkish lira (TRY)

ISO number: 949
ISO text: TRY
Name: Turkish lira

The Turkish lira (Turkish: Türk lirası) is the currency of Turkey and the de facto independent state of the Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus. The lira is subdivided into 100 kuruş. The symbol is TL and the ISO 4217 code is TRY. All notes and coins of Turkish Lira have portraits of Mustafa Kemal Atatürk from different points of his life since 1930s (with the exception of some notes of second emission, 1937-1942, which features İsmet İnönü) on the obverse side.