Polish zloty (PLN)

ISO number: 985
ISO text: PLN
Name: Polish zloty

The złoty (pronounced [ˈzwɔtɨ], sign: zł; code: PLN) literally meaning "golden", is the currency of Poland. The modern złoty is subdivided into 100 groszy (singular: grosz, alternative plural forms: grosze; groszy). The recognized English form of the word is zloty, plural zloty or zlotys. The currency sign zł, is composed by U+007A z​ latin small letter z + U+0142 ł​ latin small letter l with stroke.

As a result of inflation in the early 1990s, the currency underwent redenomination. Thus, on 1 January 1995, 10,000 old złotych (PLZ) became one new złoty (PLN).