Danish krone (DKK)

ISO number: 208
ISO text: DKK
Name: Danish krone

The krone (sign: kr; code: DKK) is the currency of the Kingdom of Denmark. The krone is pegged to the euro via the European Union's exchange rate mechanism. The plural of krone is kroner. The krone is divided into 100 øre, the singular form being the same as the plural. The ISO 4217 code is DKK; the domestic abbreviation is "kr." Occasionally, the variants DKR or Dkr are seen, but these are not official. The currency is sometimes informally referred to as the "Danish crown" in English (since krone literally means crown in the Danish language).